Who won the first-ever Donald Ross Memorial Invitational boys individual title?

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Peter Uihlein named semifinalist for Ben Hogan Award

Peter Uihlein at last week's Masters. Provided by McClatchy-Tribune News Service.

Peter Uihlein's career keeps getting better.

If playing in his first Masters wasn't enough, the former Pendleton School at IMG Academies standout was named a semifinalist for the prestigious Ben Hogan Award on Wednesday.

The award is given annually to the best college golfer.

Uihlein, an Oklahoma State University junior, had a banner year in 2010 after winning the United States Amateur.

The triumph was the second straight for former Bradenton residents following Ben An's victory in 2009.

Uihlein isn't the lone Cowboy on the short list for the award, which will be presented to the winner on May 16 in conjunction with the Hogan-associated PGA Tour event held at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Two other Oklahoma State players are semifinalists. PGA Tour sensation Rickie Fowler was the last winner from Oklahoma State, taking the award in 2008.

Uihlein missed the cut in the Masters after an even-par 72 in the first round. He also played in the Transitions Championship - the lone PGA Tour stop on Florida's west coast. Uihlein made the cut there.

No comments:

Post a Comment