Who won the first-ever Donald Ross Memorial Invitational boys individual title?

Monday, November 1, 2010

Imada shoots 97 after 26-stroke penalty

Photo of Imada at Bay Hill provided by McClatchy News Service

This whole not checking the local rules and costing yourself spiel is becoming old hat real quick.

The latest in the summer of rules infractions among touring pros happened this past weekend.

The Golf Channel has reported that Ryuji Imada was assessed a 26-stroke penalty, because he failed to read the local rules sheet.

The conditions on the Blackstone Course at the Mission Hills Star Trophy in China were soft, so
players were allowed to lift, clean and place their balls.

The Golf Channel report says Imada assumed he was allowed one club length to replace his ball, which is standard on the PGA Tour.

However, the local rule was within one scorecard, which is customary for the European and Asian Tours.

Imada was then hit with 13 two-stroke penalties for breach of the rule, according to The Golf Channel report.

Dustin Johnson had a playoff spot in this year's PGA Championship taken away for grounding his club in a bunker at Whistling Straits.

However, the controversy surrounding the infraction was centered on whether or not it was a bunker since the gallery had trampled down the area all week.

Juli Inkster was called out by a viewer at an LPGA event due to swinging a weighted club - a no-no - while waiting to tee off during a super-long wait, since play was backed up.

Jim Furyk was disqualified from one of the FedEx Cup tournaments, because he overslept his alarm clock and missed the tee time for the pro-am event.

The moral of the story? Read, read and read some more prior to playing any tournament.

Click "Imada penalized 26 strokes" to read the full story.

No comments:

Post a Comment