Who won the first-ever Donald Ross Memorial Invitational boys individual title?

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Westwood is the new No. 1

Lee Westwood at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational this year, photo provided by McClatchy News Service

Lee Westwood
is the new No. 1 player in the world, and he hasn't won a major yet.

Despite the tag as the "best-player-never-to-win-a-major," Westwood isn't alone in becoming No. 1 without one of the top prizes in golf dotting his resume.

The Englishman is the fourth player - after Ian Woosnam, Fred Couples and David Duval - to become the world's best player without a major championship.

And good news, all three of the previous touring pros would later etch their names into golf history with major victories.

Woosnam and Couples earned green jackets for triumphs at The Masters, while Duval won the Claret Jug en route to the British Open title.

Westwood has sniffed that elusive maiden major several times, including runner-up finishes at the 2010 Masters and British Open.

To read more about Westwood taking over for Tiger Woods as the No. 1-ranked player in the world, click the following link: "Commentary: Tiger's fall appeared unlikely"

No comments:

Post a Comment