Who won the first-ever Donald Ross Memorial Invitational boys individual title?

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Peter Uihlein grabs Ben Hogan Award

Peter Uihlein at the Masters earlier this year. Photo courtesy of McClatchy-Tribune News Service.

Peter Uihlein, the former IMG Academies standout and current Oklahoma State junior, culminated a scintillating past year with winning the Ben Hogan Award.

The award, given annually to the best male collegiate golfer, was handed out Monday night at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Uihlein joined teammate Kevin Tway and UCLA freshman Patrick Cantlay as finalists.

He also became the first Oklahoma State player to capture the award since PGA Tour star Rickie Fowler in 2008.

Uihlein played the Transitions Championship in Palm Harbor as a PGA Tour tune-up for the Masters, where he earned an invitation based off his triumph at the 2010 United States Amateur.

That victory also exempted the honorary Ritz-Carlton Members Golf Club member from qualifying for the next month's U.S. Open and July's British Open.

But first, he'll help the Cowboys in a regional tournament at the end of this week. OK State can advance to the NCAA National Championship, which is held at the Cowboys' home course this year.

No comments:

Post a Comment